Shortcomings with FOG

Just a quick note to mention a couple of shortcomings with FOG:

  • If you have multiple partitions you can’t choose to clone just one of these, you have to clone the entire disk
  • Same goes for when restoring images – have to restore the image spanning the entire disk, you can’t restore it to just one partition
  • If you have more than one hard disk there’s no way of choosing which disk to clone or restore an image to – FOG always chooses the first disk by default

I just need to get in the habit of making sure the OS is always on the first disk. Also I rarely have multiple partitions on the same disk as the OS – I have my OS on one disk and my data on a second disk whenever possible so I don’t think these shortcomings will affect me much.

One thought on “Shortcomings with FOG

Leave a Reply

