Update: Moving onto MDT 2010 and Windows Server 2008 R2

I thought now’s a good time to provide an update on exploring my interests in Windows Deployment.

So, I started from the ground up with the WAIK and experimenting with unattended.xml and Sysyprep, with the intention to get a good foundation of the tools Microsoft Deployment Toolkit was built upon before moving onto MDT 2010. I spent a lot of time with building unattend.xml answer files using Windows SIM, Sysprep’ing computers, Windows PE, DISM and imagex,

Here are a few links to some of the posts I’ve written on the subject:

I recently installed MDT 2010 on an evaluation version of Windows Server 2008 R2 with a WDS role. (Of course that included installing and configuring Active Directory, DNS and DHCP server roles since they are pre-requisites to installing WDS).

I want to concentrate more on MDT 2010 than writing instructions from here on. I’ll update again with my progress with in due course.

Windows Server 2008 R2 installed on VMware Player

One thought on “Update: Moving onto MDT 2010 and Windows Server 2008 R2

Leave a Reply

