What I’ve Been Up To During My Blogging Hiatus

It’s been a long time since I’ve updated my blog though I do have a very good reason for that. I wanted to spend more time experimenting and learning new skills and technology in my lab. I’ve found having to plan and write blog posts not only get in the way of making progress in the lab but also more of a challenge than getting to grips with new technology. Hence the sabbatical.

I’m please to say my time in the lab has been spent well indeed. Here’s the kind of stuff I’ve been getting up to:

Hyper-V 2012 R2 and Windows Server 2012 R2

I’ve always been interested in virtualization and have used and learned a lot with VMware vSphere ESXi 5.0 running on a HP Microserver from about three years ago. Having heard a lot about Hyper-V catching up with vSphere ESXi in terms of features (and being a Microsoft fanboy at heartJ) I was eager to check out its competitor from Microsoft. I bought two additional servers for my lab (both Lenovo ThinkServer TS140) to help me learn Hyper-V. I’ve had much fun with Hyper-v and Server 2012 R2 over the past year while experimenting with the likes of SMB 3.0, iSCSI direct, NIC teaming, Storage Spaces and backup solutions such as Veeam and Altaro. Oh, and live VM migration! I’ll be writing a post to document my lab set up just to illustrate how it’s evolved since I last documented it in My Lab at Home. Also coming up are posts on the work I’ve been doing as mentioned above – most of these will be How To articles for my own reference (and anyone to consult should they wish to do so).

SCCM 2012 R2

I started with Windows Deployment Toolkit 2010 three years ago but I always had my eye on SCCM and Zero Touch deployment. Having set up Hyper-V in my lab it wasn’t long before I had my SCCM server up and running on a virtual machine. Again, I’ll be writing about my work on application deployment (including application packaging), operating system deployment and reporting in particular.

Windows 10

The latest (and greatest?) Windows operating system from Microsoft may have RTM’d only eight weeks ago but I’m happy to say I have almost a year’s experience of using the OS already. I’ve been a Windows Insider since day one and have used every single insider build that’s been released (I skipped the leaked builds) on my daily computer. I have a lot to say about Windows 10 (mostly good), though I’m not sure how much I’ll end up writing about it here.

With an update on what I’ve been doing out of the way I can now make a start on writing a few posts.

PS.

I want to mention a few people who I follow on Twitter who have helped me a lot in getting to grips with some of the technology I’ve been working with. As technology evangelists these people invest a lot of time in sharing their knowledge with the greater tech community. Notable among them are:

Niall C. BradyMikael NystromJohan ArwidmarkAnoop C Nair, and Alan Burchill.

3 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Up To During My Blogging Hiatus

  1. Happy to see you back, love your blog. Any likelihood of doing a post on MDT 2013 update 1 to deploy windows 10 including copy profiles in unattend.xml?

Leave a Reply

