SimpleNote (and FlickNote)

SimpleNote is a note-taking app which comes in a Web version along with various third party apps for smartphones which sync with the Web app, making it possible to take your note with you everywhere. Using SimpleNote is as simple as completing the very short online registration and finding a suitable app for your platform.

Having access to your notes everywhere, taking notes anywhere with your phone, access to previous versions of your notes – all that and more for free. What more do you want? Well, there is something actually… an app for your phone. 

I use FlickNote for Android (my preferred platform) which comes with a clean minimal interface and doesn’t ask for any special permissions. FlickNote and SimpleNote collectively work best for taking quick notes, something you want to have access both on your phone and the Web.

What I use it for:

As an example, say I’m sitting on a train and I’ve got an idea for my blog or something to research when in front of a PC, but I need to quickly make a note of it before it slips from my mind and I forget. I take my notes on my phone (using FlickNote), safe with the knowledge it’s synced with the Web waiting for me when I get home and sit down in front of my PC.

Scenarios such as the above actually happen quite often in my life, hence why I like SimpleNote so much (and FlickNote too).

FlickNote: what I like:

  • It’s free
  • Syncs automatically in the background
  • Can tag your notes
  • Sort notes alphabetically, date modified or date created
  • Minimal interface
  • Requires minimal permissions to run on Android

FlickNote: what I don’t like:

  • Ads on the app (you can buy licence key to remove ads)

Actually the ads don’t really bother me since the app itself doesn’t ask permissions to access my personal details, which is also why I’m not paying for the licence to remove them. Also SimpleNote is text only which may be a drawback to some but this doesn’t bother me much since I only use it for quick note-taking. After all that’s what it’s supposed to be about – simple note-taking.

Update 13/01/2013:

With the latest release of FlickNote the app is asking for too much information in permissions for my liking. It wants access to my contacts which is something I simply won’t stand for.

I’m using JadeNote for now but I’m also trying out a couple of other apps at the same time. I’ll post an update here when I’ve found one I like.

Just to show you exactly what I have a problem with I’ve reproduced full details of what the app is asking for.

From the Google Play store:

READ YOUR CONTACTS

Allows the app to read data about your contacts stored on your tablet, including the frequency with which you’ve called, emailed, or communicated in other ways with specific individuals. This permission allows apps to save your contact data, and malicious apps may share contact data without your knowledge. Allows the app to read data about your contacts stored on your phone, including the frequency with which you’ve called, emailed, or communicated in other ways with specific individuals. This permission allows apps to save your contact data, and malicious apps may share contact data without your knowledge.

Leave a Reply

