Quick Fix: MMC Has Detected An Error In A Snap-in And Will Unload It

I wrote a post only a few days ago how I combined a few MMC snap-ins in a console for easier access in one place. Well, today I started experiencing a problem where an error message such as the one produced below would randomly pop up while using the console.

clip_image002

A quick search on Google seemed to suggest this problem does not affect 32-bit snap-ins and so with that in mind I used a Run command to launch the console with 32-bit snap-ins. And sure enough 32-bit snap-ins works just fine and I haven’t seen that error pop up again. I then opted to create a shortcut on my desktop to launch the console instead.

Here’s what I used for the shortcut:

mmc.exe "%systemdrive%:\Users\%username%\Desktop\Server Management Console.msc" /32

It’s more a workaround than a fix but hey, it works!

One thought on “Quick Fix: MMC Has Detected An Error In A Snap-in And Will Unload It

Leave a Reply

